I’m back from a holiday and back at work (uhmm, at least physically). Hope you all had a lovely Christmas too.

Just had my 8w 4d scan and our ‘babaliefie’ is right on track and has a beautifully strong heartbeat with 175 bpm!

I’ve been spotting non-stop since the previous scare when we lost one twinnie, so I tried to contain my excitement during the holiday. This was easier said than done around my ecstatic mother, MIL and other delighted family members.

Shame, at my family’s ‘Kersboom’ on the eve of the 24th when we announced the news, my mother produced the cutest baby things that she bought.. wait for it.. shortly after DH and I got engaged five years ago. Not married. Engaged!

‘Fortunately’ the horrid nausea was and is at least a pretty reassuring reminder that there’s a little babaliefie on board (that doesn’t like driving, vitamins, brushing of teeth, eating – especially eating Christmas dinner, not eating,..). It even wakes me up at least twice every night. I pack myself a ‘midnight snack’ box before bed.

